Home Sport Seven nations still to name AFCON squads

Seven nations still to name AFCON squads

Seven nations still to name AFCON squads

Story by Mthokozisi Dube

SEVEN nations are racing with the 3 January deadline to announce their Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) squads ahead of the showdown which kicks off in Ivory Coast from the 13th to the 11th of February.

Africa’s 24-nation pinnacle tournament, the African Cup of Nations (AFCON) roars into life in two weeks in Ivory Coast.

While several nations have announced their final 28-men squad, seven other countries only have four days to do so ahead of the tournament which begins on 13 January.

Zambia, Tanzania, Mali, Ghana, Gambia, Equatorial Guinea and Egypt are still to name their squads ahead of the 3 January deadline.

Defending champions Senegal, who last lifted the coveted trophy in Cameroon in 2022 will be out to defend their crown after being drawn in Group C with the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon, Gambia and Guinea.

Hosts, Ivory Coast who have put in a lot of preparations to stage the big tournament resume their group stage qualifiers with a date against Guinea Bissau.

The two other Group A members Nigeria and Equatorial Guinea face off on the 14th of January.

Group D appears to be a group of death pitting Algeria, Angola, Burkina Faso and Mauritania, while Group E features Mali, Namibia, South Africa and Tunisia.

The last group F has DR Congo, Morocco, Tanzania and Zambia.