16 C
Wednesday, May 29, 2024

ZANU PF wins by-elections

Story by ZBC Reporter

ZANU PF candidates Cde George Mashavave and Cde Kiven Mutimbanyoka have been duly elected National Assembly members for Mt Pleasant and Harare East Constituencies respectively.

For Mount Pleasant Constituency, independent candidates; Mamuse Nason and Ticky Brian garnered 945 and 220 votes each, respectively, while ZANU PF’s George Mashavave had 3 205.

The percent poll for Mount Pleasant was 11.6%, with 206 rejected ballots.

Cheza Ropafadzo Cynthia an independent candidate from Harare East garnered 1 974 votes, with ZANU PF’s Kiven Mutimbanyoka emerging victorious with 3 533 votes.

Harare East had 51 rejected ballot papers with a percentage poll of 15.2%.

The Mt Pleasant seat fell vacant after the resignation of Citizens Coalition for Change legislator Ms Fadzai Mahere, while
the Harare East National Assembly seat also fell vacant after the resignation of another Citizens Coalition for Change legislator Rusty Markham.

Related Articles

[td_block_social_counter facebook="tagdiv" twitter="tagdivofficial" youtube="tagdiv" style="style8 td-social-boxed td-social-font-icons" tdc_css="eyJhbGwiOnsibWFyZ2luLWJvdHRvbSI6IjM4IiwiZGlzcGxheSI6IiJ9LCJwb3J0cmFpdCI6eyJtYXJnaW4tYm90dG9tIjoiMzAiLCJkaXNwbGF5IjoiIn0sInBvcnRyYWl0X21heF93aWR0aCI6MTAxOCwicG9ydHJhaXRfbWluX3dpZHRoIjo3Njh9" custom_title="Stay Connected" block_template_id="td_block_template_8" f_header_font_family="712" f_header_font_transform="uppercase" f_header_font_weight="500" f_header_font_size="17" border_color="#dd3333"]
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles