18.2 C
Thursday, May 23, 2024

Cde Pedzai Sakupwanya wins Mabvuku seat

Story by Wellington Makonese

The ruling ZANU PF now has one more National Assembly seat in the bag after the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) declared Cde Pedzai Sakupwanya as duly elected legislator for Mabvuku Tafara constituency following the High Court’s nullification of the candidature his only challenger, Mr Munyaradzi Kufahakutizwi in a by-election that was scheduled for this Saturday.

A by-election will not be held in Mabvuku Tafara constituency this Saturday after ZEC declared Cde Sakupwanya as elected unopposed following the High Court order barring recalled CCC candidates from contesting.

The initial High Court ruling this Thursday had omitted the name of the CCC Mabvuku Tafara candidate, Mr Kufahakutizwi from the list of barred candidates but an amendment has since been done.

Mr Kufahakutizwi was the only candidate who was set to challenge Cde Sakupwanya in Saturday’s by-election and his candidature’s nullification means Cde Sakupwanya has been elected unopposed.

In a statement, ZEC Chief Elections Officer, Utoile Silaigwana confirmed the election of Cde Sakupwanya, saying no by-election in Mabvuku Tafara constituency will be held this Saturday.

By-elections will however proceed in eight other constituencies that is Binga North, Lupane East, Cowdray Park, Bulawayo South, Lobengula-Magwegwe, Beitbridge West, Nketa, Mpopoma-Mzilikazi.

Related Articles

[td_block_social_counter facebook="tagdiv" twitter="tagdivofficial" youtube="tagdiv" style="style8 td-social-boxed td-social-font-icons" tdc_css="eyJhbGwiOnsibWFyZ2luLWJvdHRvbSI6IjM4IiwiZGlzcGxheSI6IiJ9LCJwb3J0cmFpdCI6eyJtYXJnaW4tYm90dG9tIjoiMzAiLCJkaXNwbGF5IjoiIn0sInBvcnRyYWl0X21heF93aWR0aCI6MTAxOCwicG9ydHJhaXRfbWluX3dpZHRoIjo3Njh9" custom_title="Stay Connected" block_template_id="td_block_template_8" f_header_font_family="712" f_header_font_transform="uppercase" f_header_font_weight="500" f_header_font_size="17" border_color="#dd3333"]
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles