17.2 C
Tuesday, May 21, 2024

Warriors regroup, Sunday Chidzambwa to lead Warriors against Namibia

Story by Lawrence Trusida, Sports Editor

THE Warriors are set to regroup for the first time since February 2022 when they play neighbours Namibia at the National Sports Stadium this Monday as part of celebrations to mark the inauguration of President Emmerson Mnangagwa.

The Zimbabwe Football Association has appointed veteran coach, Sunday Chidzamba to lead the Warriors in the once-off match against Namibia this Monday and he will be assisted by Sheasham head coach, Lizwe Sweswe.

The technical department has since named a 20-man team that will be captained by Highlanders defence stalwart Peter Muduhwa, and deputised by Dynamos captain Frank Makarati.

Impressive Ngezi Platinum Stars goalkeeper Nelson Chadya will fight for the number one jersey with Simba Chinani of Simba Bhora.

Apart from the two captains, the defence also features Farai Banda of Manica Diamonds, Chicken Inn’s Xolani Dube, Godknows Murwira of CAPS United and Thubelihle Jubane of Sheasham.

Shepherd Mhlanga, Brighton Manhire, Mthokozisi Msebe, Tanaka Shandirwa, Brian Banda and Thulani Joseph are the midfielders.

Upfrount, on fire Obriel Chirinda of Bulawayo Chiefs and Fortune Binzi of Manica Diamonds, the evergreen Walter Musona of FC Platinum together with surprise choices Tinashe Balakazi and Liberty Musveure are expected to provide firepower for the Warriors.

The match will also signal Zimbabwe’s return to international football following the lifting of the FIFA suspension in June.

Full squad

Simbarashe Chinani (Simba Bhora) Nelson Chadya (Ngezi Platinum Stars)

Peter Muduhwa (Highlanders) Frank Makarati (Dynamos) Farai Banda (Manica Diamonds) Xolani Ndlovu (Chicken Inn) Thubelihle Jubane (Sheasham) Godknows Murwira (Caps United) Tawanda Chisi (Manica Diamonds)

Shepherd Mhlanga (Chicken Inn) Brighton Manhire Mthokozisi Msebe (Bulawayo Chiefs) (Highlanders) Tanaka Shandirwa (Dynamos) Brian Banda (FC Platinum) Thulani Joseph (Caps United)

Fortune Binzi (Manica Diamonds) Tinashe Balakasi (Simba Bhora) Obriel Chirinda (Bulawayo Chiefs) Walter Musona (FC Platinum) Liberty Masveure (Sheasham).

Related Articles

[td_block_social_counter facebook="tagdiv" twitter="tagdivofficial" youtube="tagdiv" style="style8 td-social-boxed td-social-font-icons" tdc_css="eyJhbGwiOnsibWFyZ2luLWJvdHRvbSI6IjM4IiwiZGlzcGxheSI6IiJ9LCJwb3J0cmFpdCI6eyJtYXJnaW4tYm90dG9tIjoiMzAiLCJkaXNwbGF5IjoiIn0sInBvcnRyYWl0X21heF93aWR0aCI6MTAxOCwicG9ydHJhaXRfbWluX3dpZHRoIjo3Njh9" custom_title="Stay Connected" block_template_id="td_block_template_8" f_header_font_family="712" f_header_font_transform="uppercase" f_header_font_weight="500" f_header_font_size="17" border_color="#dd3333"]
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles