9.9 C
Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Chevrons captain Sikander Raza named in T20 team of the year

Chevrons captain Sikander Raza named in T20 team of the year

Story by Lawrence Trusida, Sports Editor

ZIMBABWE’S T20 captain, Sikandar Raza capped off a wonderful year after being named in the T20 international Team of the Year by the influential cricket news website ESPNcricinfo in recognition of his consistent performances last year.

The Zimbabwe Cricket national team, the Chevrons endured a difficult year in 2023, after failing to qualify for both the 50 overs and T20 World Cups.

However, Sikander Raza enjoyed individual success, especially in the game’s shortest format, as his profile continued to soar internationally.

The 37-year-old Chevron’s T20 captain has been named among the best 11 players from last year and is the only local player to be named in the renowned cricket publication’s team of the year.

The all-star team, which is captained by the former South African skipper, Faf Du Plessis, is dominated by Australia and India who have three players each.

Raza played 11 T20 matches for Zimbabwe in 2023 and managed to score 515 runs at an impressive average of 51,5.

The Chevron’s stalwart managed six half-centuries and a high score of 82 runs.

The veteran all-rounder also impressed with the ball in hand as he claimed 17 wickets in 12 innings.

His incredible form in white ball cricket also saw him overtake Indian great, Virat Kohli in the most player of the match accolades.

Raza’s impressive individual performances saw him earning contracts to feature in lucrative franchise competitions such as the Indian Premier League, the Caribbean Premier League, and the Pakistan Super League as well as other T20 competitions in Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, UAE, to mention a few.

This is now the second year in a row that Raza has been recognised by ESPNcricinfo after he was also named in the publication’s One Day International (ODI) team of the year in 2022.

Raza will be hoping to carry his form to Sri Lanka where the Chevrons are set to play limited overs matches with the hosts this January.

Can you please add a meanwhile to the story it’s squad announcement for the Sri Lankan tour.

Meanwhile, Zimbabwe Cricket has announced the squads for the limited-overs series against Sri Lanka which are scheduled for this month.

The two sides will meet in three one-day international matches and as many Twenty20 international games at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo.

Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka will first face off in three ODI matches scheduled for 6, 8 and 11 January before they meet in the T20I fixtures pencilled in for 14, 16 and 18 January.


Ervine Craig (captain), Akram Faraz, Burl Ryan, Gumbie Joylord, Jongwe Luke, Kaitano Takudzwanashe, Kamunhukamwe Tinashe, Madande Clive, Masakadza Wellington, Mufudza Tapiwa, Munyonga Tony, Muzarabani Blessing, Ngarava Richard, Raza Sikandar, Shumba Milton


Raza Sikandar (captain), Bennett Brian, Burl Ryan, Ervine Craig, Gumbie Joylord, Jongwe Luke, Kamunhukamwe Tinashe, Madande Clive, Masakadza Wellington, Mumba Carl, Munyonga Tony, Muzarabani Blessing, Ndlovu Ainsley, Ngarava Richard, Shumba Milton

Related Articles

[td_block_social_counter facebook="tagdiv" twitter="tagdivofficial" youtube="tagdiv" style="style8 td-social-boxed td-social-font-icons" tdc_css="eyJhbGwiOnsibWFyZ2luLWJvdHRvbSI6IjM4IiwiZGlzcGxheSI6IiJ9LCJwb3J0cmFpdCI6eyJtYXJnaW4tYm90dG9tIjoiMzAiLCJkaXNwbGF5IjoiIn0sInBvcnRyYWl0X21heF93aWR0aCI6MTAxOCwicG9ydHJhaXRfbWluX3dpZHRoIjo3Njh9" custom_title="Stay Connected" block_template_id="td_block_template_8" f_header_font_family="712" f_header_font_transform="uppercase" f_header_font_weight="500" f_header_font_size="17" border_color="#dd3333"]
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles