10.5 C
Thursday, July 18, 2024

Government brings technology to rural schools

By Idah Mhetu

RURAL schools in Bulilima and Mangwe districts of Plumtree have begun enjoying the fruits of the Second Republic’s inclusive development agenda as the government is pursuing with vigour the philosophy of leaving no one and no place behind, as espoused by President Emmerson Mnangagwa.

In this regard, the Ministry of Information Communication Technology, Postal and Courier Services through the Postal and Telecommunication Regulatory Authority of Zimbabwe (POTRAZ) is going around the country establishing computer laboratories fully equipped with ICT gadgets and internet connectivity.

Addressing parents and residents in Bulilima and Mangwe districts, the Minister of Information Communication Technology, Postal and Courier Services, Honourable Jenfan Muswere said it is President Mnangagwa’s clarion call to see Zimbabwe prioritise a digital economy in pursuit of Vision 2030.

He added that his Ministry has documented its plan to attain Vision 2030 through the Smart Zimbabwe 2030 Masterplan.

“I am pleased to note that one of the focus areas of this master plan is smart education/ e- learning.
Smart Education is the application of modern ICT to not only facilitate learning in the classroom, but virtually from any place and at any time.

The development has uplifted areas that were previously perceived as marginalised.

“To this end, the Government of Zimbabwe, through the Ministry of ICT, Postal and Courier Services and in close collaboration with The Ministry of Primary and Secondary Education, has set up school ICT laboratories all over Zimbabwe, which will enable learners and their teachers to have access to ICT services and training. These facilities are platforms that are bringing ICTs and related services within affordable reach of previously marginalised and disadvantaged communities,” he said.

Last Thursday, computer laboratories were commissioned at 15 rural schools in Bulilima and Mangwe districts, Matabeleland South.

The schools include Tjingababili Primary School, Osabeni Primary School, Vaka Primary School, Dombodema High School, Mnigau Primary School, Madhlambuzi Primary School, Madhlambizi High School, Gwambe Secondary School, Manguba Primary School, Gambu Primary School, Makumbi Primary School, Tokwana Primary School, Tokwana Secondary School, Kungubo Primary School and Ndolwane Primary School.

Related Articles

[td_block_social_counter facebook="tagdiv" twitter="tagdivofficial" youtube="tagdiv" style="style8 td-social-boxed td-social-font-icons" tdc_css="eyJhbGwiOnsibWFyZ2luLWJvdHRvbSI6IjM4IiwiZGlzcGxheSI6IiJ9LCJwb3J0cmFpdCI6eyJtYXJnaW4tYm90dG9tIjoiMzAiLCJkaXNwbGF5IjoiIn0sInBvcnRyYWl0X21heF93aWR0aCI6MTAxOCwicG9ydHJhaXRfbWluX3dpZHRoIjo3Njh9" custom_title="Stay Connected" block_template_id="td_block_template_8" f_header_font_family="712" f_header_font_transform="uppercase" f_header_font_weight="500" f_header_font_size="17" border_color="#dd3333"]
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles