Zimbabwe, Rwanda seek stronger bilateral ties

By Oleen Ndori

Zimbabwe and Rwanda are holding a Joint Permanent Commission of Cooperation – JPCC to promote mutually beneficial programmes between the two countries.

The two countries have been exchanging visits at the highest level with President Emmerson Mnangagwa attending the central African country’s Liberation Day Celebrations in 2019 at the invitation of his counterpart, President Paul Kagame.

The inaugural virtual session of the Zimbabwe-Rwanda JPCC is meant to strengthen bilateral relations between the two countries.

A number of memoranda of understanding are expected to be signed during the session including the general cooperation agreement to establish a joint permanent commission on cooperation, diplomatic consultations and another between the Rwanda Development Board and ZimTrade, among others.

The country’s effective participation in the session is key to the realisation of Zimbabwe’s foreign policy objectives.

The ministerial meeting is set for the 18th of this month.

According to a statement issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, Honourable Professor Amon Murwira, Acting Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Trade will lead Zimbabwe’s delegation to the Virtual Inaugural Session of the Zimbabwe-Rwanda Joint Permanent Commission on Cooperation to be held from today until 18 March 2021.

The Ministers meeting of 18 March 2021 will be preceded by the Senior Officials meeting underway today and tomorrow.

Rwanda ‘s delegation will be led by the Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Honourable Dr. Vincent Biruta.

The inaugural session will discuss bilateral cooperation in trade and investment; agriculture, air transport, environment and tourism, education, science and technology, mining and energy and youth, sport and arts.

There are currently three Agreements/MoU that are operational between Zimbabwe and Rwanda. These are the Bilateral Air Services Agreement, the MoU on Mineral Recourses and the MoU on Cooperation in the field of Energy.