ZANU PF Youths hail the party’s internal democratic practices

By Wellington Makonese

THE just ended 7th ZANU PF Youth Elective Conference has been hailed as a true reflection of transparency in the internal democratic processes of the party, with the new executive ready to hit the ground running.

The Youth League Elective Conference, the first under the Second Republic has brought in a new crop of leaders, under the age 35 in line with party’s constitutional provisions.

Electoral proceedings ended on Thursday night under a tranquil atmosphere after the dissolution of the previous executive with 12 female delegates making it into the national executive of 40.

The new executive council leadership is full of praise for the party’s transparent democratic processes.

“We are grateful to President Emmerson Mnangagwa for ensuring that we have the chance to choose our own leadership,” said the Youth Secretary for Environment, Cde Batsirai Matiza.

The sincerity of the party’s senior leadership to address youth empowerment programmes is another major take-away from the conference.

I captured in the President speech that we should focus on empowering ourselves through making use of the available schemes, these are aspects that we can take-away to our peers. We also have more women in our executive and we want to thank the President for that,” noted The Secretary for Production Cde Macdonald Mbungo.

ZANU PF National Political Commissar Cde Mike Bimha commended the peaceful democratic process while the party’s National Chairperson, Cde Opah Muchinguri- Kashiri spoke on the significance of having foreign delegates.

The 40 delegates from across the 10 provinces constitute the National Executive led by Cde John Paradza as the Deputy Secretary for Youth Affairs, taking over from Cde Tendai Chirau who has been holding fort in an acting capacity.

Cde Garikai Zonde is the new Secretary for Finance , while Mashonaland Central’s Cde Tsungai Makumbe was duly elected Political Commissar, deputised by Cde Taurai Kandishaya.

Cde Thubelihle Ncube was elected the new Secretary for Security, while Cde Valeria Makonza is the new Secretary for External Affairs.

Transport and Social Welfare is now headed by Cde Innocent Dube, while Cde Phillippa Mukono was elected Secretary for Information and Publicity.

The election also saw Cde Margaret Nyerere coming in as Secretary for Indigenisation and Economic Empowerment, while Cde Munashe Mututsa takes over as Secretary for Information, Communication and Technology.

Cde Admire Ndlovu is the Secretary for Economic Affairs, Cde Luckmore Gapa the Secretary for Health and Child Care, with Cde Naledi Maunganidze as Secretary for Gender.

Cde Nomatter Topotsa now heads the Secretary for Lands portfolio, while Cde Future Mhlanga is the Secretary for Disability.

Cde Batsirai Matiza was elected Secretary for Environment, with the election seeing Cde Danmore Mambondiani deputising the Secretary for Administration.

The incoming Secretary for Business Liaison is Cde Munashe Mabika, to complete the new executive.