

## PRESS RELEASE

## Disqualification of Some Candidates for the 9 December 2023 By-Elections

The public is hereby notified that the High Court has set aside the candidature of the following persons who were respondents in the matter HCH7543/23. The said persons' candidature was for the 9 December 2023 by-elections.

- Sibanda Dubeko Prince
- Moyo Bright Vanya
- Nkomo Veliswe
- Toffa Jasmine
- Mlilo Stabile
- Sibanda Pashor Raphael
- Watson Nicola Jane
- Gono Ereck
- Zana Evidence Sunungurai
- Ncube Morgan
- Manduna Obert
- Dube Janeth
- Makaza Desmond
- Shoko Gideon
- Sibanda Tendai
- Moyo Anastasia
- Gabuzza Joel
- Chimhini David

Ncube Siphiwe

Sibanda Felix

Zivira Helen

Madzikana Mativenga.

Please note that the following persons were nominated for the direct first-past-the-post elections:

Ser	NAME	CONSTITUENCY/PROVINCE
1.	Sibanda Dubeko Prince	Binga North
2.	Moyo Bright Vanya	Lupane East
3.	Sibanda Pashor Raphael	Cowdray Park
4.	Watson Nicola Jane	Bulawayo South
5.	Gono Ereck	Lobengula-Magwegwe
6.	Ncube Morgan	Beitbridge West
7.	Manduna Obert	Nketa
8.	Makaza Desmond	Mpopoma-Mzilikazi

Consequently, the said persons are not candidates for the by-elections to be held on 9 December 2023.

In terms of the court order, the Commission has been ordered not to include the names of the said persons in the preparation of ballot papers to be used in the by-elections. The Commission is thus withdrawing all ballot papers that had been printed and distributed to the respective Constituencies and will reprint and redistribute ballots that are in compliance with the court order.

Kindly note that this will not affect the number of ballots to be printed and the number remains as notified in the notice published on the 27 November 2023. The printer remains Printing and Minting Company.

U Silaigwana () Chief Elections Officer Zimbabwe Electoral Commission