Six new NPRC commissioners sworn in

By Bruce Chahwanda Political Editor
PRESIDENT Emmerson Mnangagwa has sworn in six new commissioners of the National Peace and Reconciliation Commission (NPRC) while two others have been retained.
The swearing in of six new commissioners of the National Peace and Reconciliation Commission (NPRC) follows public interviews which were held in parliament last week.
Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Minister, Honourable Ziyambi Ziyambi said the commission will be seized with identifying possible conflicts and finding ways of resolving them for the benefit of the country’s citizens.
“The swearing of commissioners shows government’s commitment towards fostering peace in the country. The six are replacing those whose term of office has expired and they will be seized with identifying potential conflicts and find better ways of solving them,” he said.
The six commissioners sworn in are Donwell Dube, Tinashe Rukuni, Chiropafadzo Moyo, Obert Chaurura Gutu, Jospehine Shambare and Nomaqhawe Gwere.
The commissioners will join two others Golden Chekenyere and Lilian Chigwedere who have been retained.
The National Peace and Reconciliation Commission(NPRC) is one of the five Independent Commissions established under Chapter 12 of the Constitution of Zimbabwe Amendment (No. 20) Act 2013 for the purpose of supporting and entrenching a culture of human rights and democracy; protecting the sovereignty and interests of the people; promoting constitutionalism; transparency and accountability in public institutions; securing the observance of democratic values and principles by the State and all institutions and agencies of government as well as ensuring that injustices are remedied as provided for in Section 233 of the Constitution.
The NPRC’s mission is to Unite Zimbabweans for sustainable peace by developing mechanisms to peacefully resolve violent conflicts of the past and institutionalise approaches for preventing their recurrence in the present and future.