PSG’s Lionel Messi wins football’s Ballon d’Or for seventh time

Paris St-Germain and Argentina forward Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or for a record seventh time.

The 34-year-old, helped his country win the Copa America, his first international honour, and scored 40 goals which include 28 for Barcelona, four for PSG and eight for Argentina.

Bayern Munich and Poland striker, Robert Lewandowski came second, Chelsea and Italy midfielder Jorginho was third and Real Madrid’s French striker, Karim Benzema finished fourth.

The Ballon d’Or awarded to the best footballer of the year is voted for by 180 journalists from around the world, although there was no award in 2020 because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have won the award every year from 2008 to 2019, apart from 2018 when it was won by Croatia midfielder Luka Modric.

Meanwhile, Lewandowski, who scored 53 goals in all competitions in 2021 for Bayern got the award for the best striker of the year, a new award that was only announced hours before the ceremony.