Members of five commissions sworn in

President Mnangagwa yesterday swore-in members of five commissions, two of which are tribunals to investigate allegations of impropriety against three members of the Zimbabwe Land Commission and the Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission (ZACC).

The swearing-in ceremony took place at State House and was witnessed by Vice President Constantino Chiwenga, Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ziyambi Ziyambi and other senior Government officials.

Three commissions whose members took oaths of office are the Zimbabwe Media Commission, the Civil Service Commission and the Zimbabwe Human Rights Commission.

Professor Ruby Magosvongwe, who will chair the Zimbabwe Media Commission, was the first to take her oath of office followed by the other commissioners — Ms Dumisani Mashingaidze, Mrs Susan Makore, Ms Miriam Tose Majome, Major Edward Mbewe (Retired), Mr Tanaka Muganyi, Dr Phillip Pasirayi, Mr Jasper Maposa and Mr Aleck Ncube.

Prof Magosvongwe holds a Doctor of Philosophy Degree from the University of Cape Town.

She is also a holder of a Graduate Certificate in Education, BA General and Master of Arts degrees from the University of Zimbabwe (UZ).

She is currently the director of information and public relations at UZ.

Ms Mashingaidze, a lawyer by profession, holds a Master of Business Administration (MBA), a Bachelor of Laws (LLB) and a Post Graduate Diploma in Women’s Law, all from UZ.

Mr Muganyi and Ms Majome also hold law degrees, among other qualifications.

Mrs Makore, the group chief executive for AB Communications, holds a Master of Arts degree in Media and Cultural Studies from the University of Natal, a Bachelor of Arts Degree (UZ) and a post graduate Diploma in Media and Communications Studies (UZ), among others.

Mr Maphosa is a lecturer at Great Zimbabwe University (GZU), who holds a Master of Science degree in Media and Society Studies and a BSc Media and Society Studies Honours degree.
Major Mbewe (Retired) holds a Master of Science degree in Development Studies, BA degree in English and Communications among others while Dr Pasirayi holds a Doctor of Philosophy (DPhil) Degree in International Development from the University of Oxford (UK) and a Master of Law (LLM) in International Human Rights and Humanitarian Law from the University of Lancaster (UK).

%d bloggers like this: