Ishan wins big at Nama

By ZBC Reporter
BUDDING Afro-pop artiste, Isheanesu “Ishan” Chigagura scooped two gongs at the 19th edition of the annual National Arts Merit Awards (Nama) held on Saturday at the Harare International Conference Centre.
Ishan, who hogged the limelight with his hit song Kure last year, scooped the Outstanding Newcomer and song of the year awards.
“I just want to thank God for being there for me all the time. I am so grateful to my family, especially my mum who has been supportive since day one. I also want to thank my manager, Chris and my girlfriend and again thank you NAMA for recognising us” said the ecstatic afro-pop artiste.
The night also saw Tammy Moyo scooping the outstanding female musician award while T Gonz took home the outstanding male musician award.
Afro-jazz ace, Willis Wattafi won the outstanding album whilst Sunshine city by Flying Bantu was awarded the outstanding video.
Outstanding electronic media award went to Marceline Bondamakara of ZBC, while Tafadzwa Kachiko of Newsday was the best print media journalist with Anesu Masamvu of Zi FM won the outstanding radio journalist award.
In the special awards category, renowned mbira artist Ambuya Stella Chiweshe was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement award, while Winky D won the people’s choice accolade.
Popular television series, Muzita Rababa was the outstanding screen production with the outstanding two-dimensional work award going to Kelvin Chimutuwa.
The best full-length film was ‘Stay with me” by Nick Zemura while the short film award went to Tapiwa Gambura for “Redefining the Road”
Orchestra Mberikwazvo dancer Selemani Mupochi walked with the outstanding male dancer accolade, while Long John was the best Comedian.
It was a night of glitz and glamour as celebrities and music enthusiasts set fashion trends with their styles.
The ceremony which was also attended by Minister of Youth, Sport, Arts and Recreation Kirsty Coventry, was punctuated with music and dance much to the delight of the guests.
The National Arts Merit Awards are multi-faceted, they were introduced in 2001 to honour outstanding artists from various artistic fields.
Below is the full list of winners:

Outstanding Newcomer

Outstanding Female Musician
Tamy Moyo
Janet Manyowa
Ammara Brown

Outstanding Male Musician
Ti Gonzi
Winky D
Mambo Dhuterere

Outstanding Song
‘Kure’ – Ishan ft. Ti Gonzi
‘Ngaibake’ – Freeman ft. Alick Macheso
‘Mugarden’ – Winky D ft. Gemma Griffiths
‘Mweya Ndisesekedze’ – Mambo Dhuterere

Outstanding Album
Uhuru – Willis Wataffi
Dare Guru – Mambo Dhuterere
Gango – Freeman

Outstanding Music Video
‘Sunshine City’ – Flying Bantu
‘Tichichema’ – Amara Brown
‘Kure’ (remix) – Ishan
‘Bless’ – Ammy and The Calamities

Outstanding Fiction Book
Out of Darkness, Shining Light – Petina Gappah
Shasha Dzokurera – Marcilyn Mugariri
Chasing the Wind – Phillip Chidavaenzi
Itai – Abraham Makamera
Mazai Emheni – Daniel Mutendi

Outstanding Children’s Book
Songs of the Little Creature – Phumulani Chipandambira
Chitima Nditakure – Oscar Gwiriri
Kuku Wins the President’s Clean Environment Award – Aleck Kaposa

Outstanding First Creative Published Book
A People’s Fight – Fradreck Hombiro
Hatiponi – Oscar Gwiriri
Nharo Dzemusango – Chenjerai Mazambani

Outstanding Female Dance
Dadirai Mupandawana – Ezimnyama Dance Group
Michelle Msopero – Sobahle
Lynsey Nyamakwenje – Infinite Possibilities

Outstanding Male Dancer
Selemani Mpochi – Ochestra Mberikwazvo
Tawanda Tanaka Fireyi – My journey to the International Scene
Tichaona Chikara – Hero’s +

Outstanding Actress
Charmaine Mudau – Another Wedding
Antoinette Sango – Mandla
Sarah Mpofu Sibanda – Home Affairs

Outstanding Screen Production (Television Series)
Muzita Rababa – Shem Zemura
Dudzai – Farai Mungoshi
Mandla – Solomon Mandaza
Pink and Purple – Mthabisi Onias Ndlovu

Outstanding Screen Production – Short Film
Redefining the Road – Tapiwa Gambira
The Call – Godfrey Chivese
Home Affairs – Elton Sibanda

Outstanding Mix Media Work
Distorted History – Anthony Bumhira
Kurima Hohwa – Victor Nyakauru
Rehab Queen – Calvin Chimutuwah

Outstanding 2 Dimensional Work
Cyclone Idai where is Mommy? – Calvin Chimutuwah
Revolutionary Freshness – Talent Kapadza
Focusing on Green Economy – Webster Mubayirenyi

Outstanding 3 Dimensional Work
Tribute to the mother of generations – Stanley Mutanga
My Sister Loves Me – Rufaro Murenza
Ancestral Family – Nichodimus T. Mutasa

Outstanding Exhibition
Pieces for Peace, Pieces, Revolutionary Freshness – Talent Kapadza & Schuma Herscovitz
Purple Rhythm – Calvin and Prudence Chimutuwah
Engaging the 45th Year – Helen Leroys

Outstanding Journalist (Print)
Tafadzwa Kachiko – Newsday
Kundai Marunya – Herald
Prince Tungamirai Mushawevato – Sunday Mail

Outstanding Journalist (TV)
Masceline Bondamakara – ZBC
Patience Nyagato – ZBC
Alexio Gwenzi – ZBC

Outstanding Journalist Radio
Anesu Masamvu – ZiFM
Yvonne Tivatye – Star FM
Thulani Munyandu – National FM

Outstanding Online Media
3 Men on a Boat

Outstanding Comedian
Long John
Andrew Manyika

Outstanding Poet
Sithembile Siqhoza Ndebele
Tanaka Effort Chuma
Tatenda Murigo

Outstanding Actor (Film and TV)
Percy Soko – Mandla
Godfrey Chivese – The Call
Brian Chitongo – Kuchina the Genesis

Outstanding Actress (Film and TV)
Antoinette Sango – Mandla
Charmaine Mudau – Another wedding
Sarah Mpofu Sibanda – Home Affairs

Outstanding Screen Production (TV)
Mandla – Solomon Mandaza
Muzita Rababa – Shem Zemura
Dudzai – Farai Mungoshi
Pink and Purple – Mthabisi Onias Ndlovu

Outstanding Screen Production (Short Film)
Redefining the Road – Tapiwa Gambura
The Call – Godfrey Chivese
Home Affairs – Elton Sibanda

Outstanding Screen Production (Full-length Film)
Stay with Me – Nick Zemura
S’mbimbindo 3 – Von Tavaziva
$400 – Kudzai Chikomo

Artist in the Diaspora
Vusa Mkhaya
Charlie Kay
Gemma Griffiths
Norah Chipaumire

Outstanding Promoter of the Year
D & G Promotions
Big Scale Entertainment
Ngoma NeHosho

Personality of the Year

Service to the Arts Award
Solomon Guramatunhu

Lifetime Achievement Award
Stella Chiweshe

People’s Choice Award
Winky D