12.1 C
Friday, July 12, 2024

Zimbabwe to go through qualifiers for ICC T20 World Cup

Story by Lawrence Trusida, Sports Editor

ZIMBABWE have missed out on automatic qualification for the 2026 International Cricket Council (ICC) T20 World Cup after the Chevrons were relegated to the African Qualifiers.

Zimbabwe will once again battle for a ticket to the T20 World Cup set to be staged in India and Sri Lanka after being relegated to the qualifiers.

Poor results have seen Zimbabwe failing to get to the top eight nations that earn automatic qualification to the World Cup.

The Chevrons are not part of the ongoing T20 World Cup in the United States of America and West Indies after a disappointing third-place finish at the African Qualifiers last year.

Zimbabwe were the only full-member country that failed to make it to the World Cup after ICC Associate members Namibia and Uganda progressed to the tournament at the expense of the Chevrons.

The ICC confirmed this Monday that India and Sri Lanka qualified as hosts while Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, South Africa, the US and the West Indies secured their places after making it to the Super Eight stage of the 2024 tournament.

Ireland, New Zealand, and Pakistan qualified based on the rankings, while 12th-ranked Zimbabwe will miss out due to the USA’s surprise progress at this year’s event.

Related Articles

[td_block_social_counter facebook="tagdiv" twitter="tagdivofficial" youtube="tagdiv" style="style8 td-social-boxed td-social-font-icons" tdc_css="eyJhbGwiOnsibWFyZ2luLWJvdHRvbSI6IjM4IiwiZGlzcGxheSI6IiJ9LCJwb3J0cmFpdCI6eyJtYXJnaW4tYm90dG9tIjoiMzAiLCJkaXNwbGF5IjoiIn0sInBvcnRyYWl0X21heF93aWR0aCI6MTAxOCwicG9ydHJhaXRfbWluX3dpZHRoIjo3Njh9" custom_title="Stay Connected" block_template_id="td_block_template_8" f_header_font_family="712" f_header_font_transform="uppercase" f_header_font_weight="500" f_header_font_size="17" border_color="#dd3333"]
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles