ED to welcome cricket teams jetting in for women’s world cup

President Emmerson Mnangagwa will this afternoon welcome visiting cricket teams taking part in the International Cricket Council Women’s World Cup Qualifiers which got underway in Harare this Sunday.

The eight teams include the United States of America, Thailand, Bangladesh, Pakistan, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Ireland and Netherlands.

The qualifiers which will run until the fifth of next month are taking place at four different venues in the capital, namely Harare Sports Club, Old Hararians, Takashinga and Sunrises Cricket club.

It is the first time that Zimbabwe is hosting the women’s global qualifiers after hosting the Women’s African qualifiers in 2019 and the men’s T20 World Cup qualifiers in 2018.

The country is also poised to co-host the men’s fifty over World Cup with South Africa and Namibia in 2027.