Collective effort key in attainment of SDGs

By ZBC Reporter
THE 17 Sustainable Development Goals SDGs will be under spotlight at the 2020 Sixth Africa Regional Forum on Sustainable Development (ARFSD) regional forum which will run from the 24th to the 27th of February, in Victoria Falls, under the theme ‘2020-2030: A Decade to Deliver a Transformed and Prosperous Africa through the 2030 Agenda and Agenda 2063.”
The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) Zimbabwe Resident Representative, has said collective effort is key in the speedy attainment of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) which were adopted in 2015.
These are a collection of 17 global goals designed to be a “blueprint to achieve a better and more sustainable future for all.
Speaking to ZBCNewsOnline, this Wednesday the UNDP Zimbabwe Resident representative emphasised the importance of various sectors within the country and globally to work together to achieve a better world for all through the successful implementation of the SDGs.
“A collective effort now as we start this decade for action is what we are all looking for, so how do we make this into a more sustainable development model, which is not all about consumption but looks at who are we leaving behind, pull them into the development process (but) without further depleting the resources that we have,” he said.
Zimbabwe has committed itself to implement all the SDGs with an emphasis on SDGs 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 13 and 17.
The ARFSD is an intergovernmental platform convened by the ECA in collaboration with the African Union Commission, the African Development Bank, and the United Nations system to review progress, share experiences and lessons learned and build consensus on recommendations in the form of key messages to accelerate the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and Agenda 2063 of the African Union.
The Special Session will be attended by Vera Songwe, UN Under-Secretary-General and Executive Secretary of the ECA, United Nations Deputy Secretary-General, Amina Mohammed and the African Union Commission Deputy Chairperson, H.E. Ambassador Kwesi Quartey, who will co-chair this special session and attend the ARFSD.
Some of the organisations expected to attend the session include African Peer Review Mechanism; African Union Commission; Arab Maghreb Union (AMU); African Union Development Agency-NEPAD (AUDA-NEPAD); Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA); Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD); East African Community (EAC); Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS); Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS); Intergovernmental Authority for Development (IGAD); Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs) of the African Union; Southern African Development Community (SADC); United Nations organizations; African Development Bank (AfDB); and development partners.
The ARFSD will be officially opened by Zimbabwe President, Emmerson Mnangagwa, on February 25, 2020.